• PrettyChill
  • Posts
  • Imperfect action > perfect inaction (a carefree living secret)

Imperfect action > perfect inaction (a carefree living secret)

(+ 2 new posts)

I can’t remember where I heard this quote first, but it hits hard:

Imperfect action always beats perfect inaction…

Put another way, stop overthinking (or over-talking) and just take more action.

Stop waiting for the perfect moment, context or quality before sharing things or deep diving into that project you want to start. Just go. Just do. Just…start.

Because too much thinking and too much talking can turn your ideas into sources of stress or anxiety.

So more doing = more carefreeness.

:]

At least, that’s what happens for me.

I’m a musician, content maker and blogger. And to say I’ve struggled with perfectionism or overthinking sh*t would be an understatement.

But something amazing happened once I started taking more action. I stopped stressing so much if things didn’t look “just right” or if they flopped.

I also realized most people just don’t care — and they’re not paying attention to you like you think they are.

Suddenly, the stress and weight of habitual inaction floated away.

I stopped caring so much and started investing real, tangible energy into my passions. Good stuff, indeed!

For me, this was with my music. By sharing more music, I shifted my strategy from private voice memos and too much thinking to more doing and sharing.

It’s cathartic. Now, I really don’t care about sharing my music. I know it’s not always perfect, but it makes me happy — it’s for me.

The more I take action on the things most important to me, the happier and more carefree I become.

Go figure.

While of course, some things do require more thinking and planning, it’s overthinking that gets in the way and turns what should be exciting adventures into stress (or worse, regret).

Getting into the habit of “underthinking” (totally a real word) means taking more leaps. Or to put things more eloquently, it’s saying “well, f*ck it…” more often.

As an added bonus, the more action you take, the better you get. Taking more action:

  • Builds new skills

  • Fine-tunes your expertise

  • Gives you data about what’s working (and what’s not)

  • Boosts your self awareness and your brand awareness

Plus, it’s just more fun and comfortable to cut the strings from the weights holding you back.

So think less, talk less and do more. It’s cathartic and makes life more carefree and creative.

Later ✌️

* = new post

** = freshly updated post